What does self-study mean?
You may have picked this self-study course because your personal or work schedule did not allow you to take a face-to-face course. This means you are completely responsible for establishing and maintaining a regular study-system within the course purchase period of 120 days. You will find that as a distance learner, self-motivation and discipline are paramount.
Feedback from previous successful students indicate that taking notes as they read and reviewed the end of chapter questions and answers helped them to focus on the main points of each chapter. This enabled them to see whether or not they understood what they read. Also writing = 90% retention.
Our Eagles team has 40 years of experience in real estate and will be available to assist you. Be aware of the self-discipline required to be successful. Getting started and keeping on schedule are most important to a successful completion.
Principles of Real Estate Course Requirements/Information
What is your refund policy?
No refunds are available once registration is complete. However, you may request an extension with a letter of explanation to the Director at email@example.com.
What score do I need to pass the course exam?
70% or better on the national portion and 75% or better on the state law portion.
What if I pass one portion of the course exam and not the other?
You only need to retake the portion that you originally failed.
What if I fail both portions of the course exam?
You have 3 opportunities within your purchase period of 120 days to take the course final exam at no additional cost.
How do I receive testing accommodations for the exam?
At the time of registration of your course please email the following information to the director@EaglesARE.com. You are required to submit documentation from the medical authority or learning institution that rendered a diagnosis. Verification should be a one-page document on letterhead stationery of the authority or specialist and include the following:
• Description of the disability and limitations related to testing.
• Recommended accommodation/modification.
• Name, title, and phone number of the medical authority or specialist.
• Original signature of the medical authority or specialist.
The information required will be very similar. Please see the PSI Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulations Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin.
Are the questions on the course exam the same as on the licensing exam?
The questions won’t be exactly the same, but the concepts will be the same. The number of graded questions will be the same, 80 national and 40 state law. The amount of time allowed will be the same. You can see Sample Questions in the PSI Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulations Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin.
State Licensing Requirements/Information
What are the requirements to get a Virginia real estate license?
The applicant shall be at least 18 years old,
At a minimum, have a high school diploma or its equivalent; and completed a 60-hour course in the Principles of Real Estate (which includes passing a course exam).
The applicant, within 12 months prior to submitting a complete application for a license, shall have passed a licensing examination.
Each applicant shall submit to fingerprinting and shall disclose the following information:
a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug
distribution or physical injury within five years of the date of the application; and
b. All felony convictions during their lifetime.
See more information at dpor.virginia.gov/Criminal_History_IFF.
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this.
Do I have to be a Virginia resident to obtain a Virginia Real Estate license?
No, you do not have to be a Virginia resident.
Will a criminal history prevent me from getting a real license?
Not necessarily, however you must be eligible for a license before the criminal history will be considered. For example, you must meet the requirements for a license. Then when you apply for the license you will submit a Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.
See more information at dpor.virginia.gov/Criminal_History_IFF.
How much does it cost to get a real estate license?
Our principles course is $329.
Your state licensing exam is $60.
Your fingerprinting cost through PSI is $52.
The cost to apply for your license with the state is currently $170.
How much does it cost to take licensing exam?
The cost is $60.
Where will I take my state licensing exam?
You can find a list of testing site locations at psiexams.com.
How do I register to take the licensing exam?
Once you pass the course final exam, Eagles Academy of Real Estate will submit your course completion and your digital photo to the PSI testing service. You can then register yourself online with PSI to take the state licensing exam. See the PSI Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulations Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin.
Photo Requirements to take the licensing exam:
- You will need to provide the school with a 2×2 digital color photo taken within the last six months to reflect your current appearance.
- Sized so that the head is approximately one inch from the bottom of the chin to the top of the head.
- Taken in front of a plain white background.
- Be a full-face view, directly facing the camera with a neutral facial expression.
What identification will I need to provide to take the licensing exam?
You must provide two forms of VALID (NOT EXPIRED) identification. One must be a VALID form of government issued identification (Driver’s license, State ID, Passport, Military ID) which bears your signature and has your photograph. The second ID must have your signature and preprinted legal name. This information must match what you used on the examination registration form. If they do not match you will not be recognized in the system and you will not be able to take the exam.
What should I bring to the licensing exam?
Non-programmable calculators that are silent, battery operated, and do not have paper tape printing capabilities, and do not have a keyboard with the alphabet.
No personal items are allowed in the testing site. See Security Procedures PSI Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulations Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin.
Continuing Education Requirements/Information
How long do I have to complete the course?
You have 120 days from purchase.
How does my credit get submitted or who submits them to DPOR?
Once you have passed the course exam, Eagles will submit your education completion to the Virginia Real Estate Board.
Don't forget to pay your license renewal fee to: dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Guest_Renewal_Payment
To whom do I pay my renewal fee?
You pay your renewal fee to the Department of Professional Occupation and Regulation (DPOR). You will get a notice from DPOR 45 days from your license expiration. It is important to pay on time.
Still have questions? Connect with us at info@EaglesARE.com or (757) 260-9300.